Just to give you some awareness of the massive spam about adwords that you might fall if you are using the service. This is not actually coming from google adwords itself but to a certain site trying to steal your information and even money out of it.
Letter might go this way,
———————————————————————————-
Dear AdWords Customer,
Your ads have stopped running because we were unable to process your billing information.
To activate your account and start running your ads, enter your billing information.In order to activate your account and start running your ads, enter your billing information.
Pease sign into your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login, and update
your billing information.Once your account is reactivated and your billing information has been processed,
any your ads and campaigns can begin running immediately on Google.———————————————————————————-
The Google-AdWords Team
Look at the sign-in, but hovering your mouse to the link will give a different url pointing to a .cn site. http://adwords.google.avantisbank.cn/select/Login/. Don’t click the link you might end up broke. I received many of these and maybe you too, just to stay alert.


















13 Comments Received
April 9th, 2008 @10:29 am
Thank you so much for this alert.
April 13th, 2008 @6:01 pm
Thanks for information .
April 15th, 2008 @12:01 pm
Thanks for the warning. I’ll watch out for that.
April 16th, 2008 @10:33 am
Thank you for this very vital piece of advise. Unknowingly a lot of us could have landed up in grief. Thanks again
April 16th, 2008 @12:38 pm
I heard about this the other day, they are using adwords to advertisie as well i think. Surely google can block their url, or any url similar to their own (since it is that with the ‘cn/select’ extension)… or is this not possible?
April 16th, 2008 @10:46 pm
Thanks for posting about seo. I do website marketing myself and your blog is great research for my website marketing Video Podcast series
thanks,
PuReWebDev
April 18th, 2008 @4:37 pm
Just another in a long line of phishing scams. As an eBay/PayPal user I get these all the time. My best advice is not to try to figure out if it is legit or not. Yes, I realize you can look at the code and message source but why waste the time? Just immediately log into your account, if there is a problem Google/eBay/PayPal/insert you bank name here will have an alert screen.
As far as those url getting blocked, the problem for Google (yeah I can hear everyone crying, “poor Google”) is that stopping these spammers has turned into satanic game of whack-a-mole. They get one only to have two or three pop-up.
Just me two cents
Charles
April 21st, 2008 @11:01 am
I cringe when I see how much more sophisticated these scams are becoming. They are appearing so authentic that I’m sure several people will get burned.
It will make honest email marketing increasingly challenging - we’re getting more and more leery of clicking links sent via email.
Sabrina
April 22nd, 2008 @6:41 am
Warning ! Warning ! Warning !
Thank you for sharing..
Alertness is the answer!
April 24th, 2008 @9:33 am
I also ever received this kind of email.
May 5th, 2008 @2:27 pm
Wow! It is alarming..It’s good someone like you is concerned enough to alert the people.
May 20th, 2008 @4:23 pm
Wow! I’m in the beginning stages of marketing my website online and I am really glad that I stumbled upon your post. Do you have any other advice for a beginner to look out for? The website is for an airconditioning company that I own, so if you see anything on the site itself that could be changed to enhance its visibility please let me know.
May 26th, 2008 @2:18 am
Hey Friends!
I have developed a new web directory and need your valuable comments to know if something needs to be inculcated.
It will be of great pleasure to have your valuable comments.
Leave A Reply